Awards

The Canadian Neurological Sciences Federation's

Distinguished Service Award

This is an award given to a senior member of the CNSF who has made an outstanding, notable or special contribution to the Canadian Neurological Sciences Federation, and to one or more of the Federation's Societies and/or the CINS (Journal); either through participation in the CNSF's committees, involvement in the Congress, the performance of administrative duties, or involvement in promoting the CNSF and its member societies.

2018 recipient Dr. Ian Fleetwood

Ian joined the CNSS in 1996, while still a Resident in Winnipeg. He has regularly attended and participated in the annual CNSF Congress ever since. He served on the CJNS Editorial Board for 5 years and has also been an occasional reviewer of submissions to the Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences. He currently sits as a CNSF Board Member. Above all, he enjoys the camaraderie of the Canadian meeting and has helped organize several social functions over the years!

lan joined the CNSS Executive Committee in 2010, graduating through the positions of Secretary-Treasurer, Vice-President, President and Past-President. During his time on the Executive, he addressed the issue of Membership by focusing on creating value for membership and building a comprehensive membership database. He implemented a social reception for Canadian neurosurgeons at American conferences. During his presidency, additional awards were introduced for neurosurgery resident presentations at the Congress and funding for support of national resident-level courses was expanded. Working with Steve Lownie, the CNSS Lifetime Achievement Award was revitalized, including recognition of his long time colleague, Renn Holness. He explored issues surrounding neurosurgeon employment and represented CNSS at national



conferences dealing with these issues. He researched and archived the history of the CNSS in an attempt to restore a sense of longevity and pride in the Society. He helped focus the organization on the emerging issue of Medical Assistance in Death, organizing a symposium at the CNSF Congress and co-authoring the CNSS Position Paper published last year.

In addition to the duties associated with these positions, he has also served regularly as a reviewer of neurosurgical abstracts to the Congress and was on the selection committee for the K. G. McKenzie Prize for six years.

Outside of the CNSF, Ian has been involved with the Royal College Neurosurgery Examination Committee, serving as an Examiner for six years and was on the nucleus committee for four years, before recently transitioning to the Written Exam committee. He has also participated in the process of developing milestones for Competency by Design, led by Cian O'Kelly.

Beyond neurosurgery, Ian is a passionate minor hockey coach and has been on the bench for 17 teams in the last 12 years. He has participated administratively in the community as a minor hockey Board member in Victoria and also here in Halifax for Bedford Minor Hockey Association! His current project is to establish an all-Female hockey association in Victoria, the only major city in Canada that lacks appropriate infrastructure for girls hockey. He serves on the BC Hockey Safety Committee as a subject matter expert in brain and spinal injury and is currently involved in reviewing the playing rules surrounding head contact in minor hockey in BC. He laments his inability to initiate an annual Neurosciences hockey game during the Congress after 5 consecutive attempts!

In accepting this award, Ian wishes to acknowledge numerous clinical and administrative mentors who also contributed significantly to the CNSS and CNSF including Norman Hill, Terry Myles, Mark Hamilton, Chris Wallace, Max Findlay, Renn Holness, and especially Derek Fewer.