

## Karel ter Brugge

Born in Holland, Dr. ter Brugge attended medical school at the University of Utrecht, obtained his specialty training in radiology at the University of Toronto, and completed his fellowship training in Neuroradiology at the Montreal Neurological Institute at McGill University. He joined the staff of the Toronto Western Hospital as a neuroradiologist in 1976.

He was the Head of the Division of Neuroradiology at the University of Toronto as well as the JDMI at the University Health Network, Women's College and Mount Sinai Hospitals (1992-2016). He was appointed Professor of Radiology in 1993 and Professor of Surgery in 1998 and was the inaugural holder of the David Braley and Nancy Gordon Chair in Interventional Neuroradiology at the University of Toronto (2006-2016).

He has served as the President of the World Federation of Interventional and Therapeutic Neuroradiology (1999-2001) and was the Chairman of the second Congress of the WFITN in Vancouver 1993. He was the Secretary General of the World Federation of Neuroradiological Societies (2008-2010) and the President of the Canadian Society of Neuroradiology (2018-2019).

Dr. ter Brugge has over 300 publications in scientific journals and chapters in books. He co-authored with Drs. Lasjaunias and Berenstein the seminal three-volume textbook on Surgical Neuroangiography. He also co-authored with Dr Krings the textbooks Case-Based Interventional Neuroradiology and Neurovascular Anatomy in Interventional Neuroradiology. Dr. ter Brugge was the Editor in Chief of Interventional Neuroradiology (2009-2019).

Dr. ter Brugge became the inaugural recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Department of Medical Imaging at the University of Toronto in 2015 and in 2016, he received the UHN Global Impact Award, which honours UHN staff members who have changed the world of health and healthcare. In 2017 he was the inaugural recipient of the Canadian Association of Radiology Distinguished Career Achievement Award and in 2018 he was decorated by the King of Holland and received the prestigious Officier in de Orde van Oranje-Nassau award.