Lifetime Achievement Award | CNSS

Source Credit: / 

"Dr. Drake’s legacy continues to inspire neurosurgeons to find the answer to the problems that seem impossible."

Charles Drake Medal

The Canadian Neurosurgical Society encourages your nominations for the annual CNSS Charles Drake Medal, Lifetime Achievement Award named in honour of Dr. Charles G. Drake, recognized as one of the greatest neurosurgeons of all time and past president of the CNSS in 1967.

This award is intended to recognize a senior neurosurgeon for their internationally recognized work in the field of neurosurgery and participation in the development of neurosurgical research and/or education in Canada.

Nominations can be submitted by any CNSS member and should include a letter of support outlining the nominee’s career contributions to neurosurgery and the nominee’s curriculum vitae, if available.  

Nominations can be submitted at any time with an annual deadline of January 31st. Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of the CNSS Executive. If you are interested in submitting a nomination, please contact:

The winner will be invited to attend the CNSF Congress where the award will be presented at the annual CNSS dinner.

Terms of Reference

Past Recipients

2024 Recipient - Dr. James T. Rutka

2023 Recipient - Dr. Paul Steinbok

2022 Recipient - Dr. Mary Elizabeth “Betty” MacRae

2019 Recipient - Dr. Andre Olivier

2018 Recipient - Dr. Falah Maroun

2017 Recipient - Dr. Chris Wallace

2016 Recipient - Dr. Renn Holness

2010 Recipient - Dr. Charles Tator

2006 Recipient - Dr. Bryce K.A. Weir